Josie Cotton Invasion of the B-Girls on Dionysus Records!

Dionysus Records has released its first LP in two years, Josie Cotton Invasion of the B-Girls!

A collection of theme songs and featured tunes from a variety of exploitation films from the ’60s and ’70s, Josie Cotton Invasion of the B-Girls is a one-of-a-kind album. The LP boasts liner notes from director John Waters, who knows more about this film genre than anyone. His own song, “Female Trouble,” (from the film of the same name) is prominently featured. The track features the TOWER OF POWER horns; other featured musicians throughout include David Kendrick (DEVO, SPARKS), Paul Roessler (SCREAMERS, TWISTED ROOTS), Geza X, Kenny Lyon, and many others.

While the movies that are highlighted are often considered low-budget affairs, the production value of these versions takes many of these numbers to a new level. Among the songs on the LP are “Maneaters (Get off the Road)” from Herschell Gordon Lewis’ female biker flick She-Devils on Wheels, “Run Pussy Cat” from Faster Pussycat! Kill! Kill! And “Beyond the Valley of the Dolls,” both Russ Meyer exploitation classics. The theme songs from The Girl in Gold Boots, Green Slime, and Black Klansman (the Ted V. Mikels film, not Spike Lee’s) are all on board and delivered with expected Josie panache. Two songs from the giant Japanese monster genre, “Goodbye Godzilla” and “Shiawaseo Yobou” are also lovingly rendered.

Get it from Dionysus Mail Order at this link!
Distributed by ILD – Independent Label Distribution

Written by Dionysus Records